Discography

2016 - Harpe en signe


2016 - Harpe en signe

With "Harpe in Signe", I put solos recent next to older compositions including participations of musicians coming from various horizons. "

The cover design comes from a photo taken at the foot of my harp where drops of water from a leak in the roof of the subway had formed a surprising motive, evoquantun eye who was studying me with different intensities, following the fluctuations caused by the fall of water; chance that this scrutiny is established at the foot of the instrument, so me can not ignore it.

There evocation of a sign mysterious came challenge me?  On rainy days the lapping of water drops falling in front of me I was inspired "clapotis of emotion", and influence aquatic yet, "des heads to the lac"and cygne "chant". " Cristal "Cordes" esprimant my desire of musical syncretism. "

For those who will have this CD, I put two other pieces that matter to me: "Air amadoué" that marks the moment where I wanted to free myself patterns inherent in traditional music in order to get my own musical style, and "Ariette in tete" in search of sweetness and nostalgia piece that many parents have told me use to put their children to sleep.

The following is a selection of songs from the Cd "Harpe in sol" the draw now exhausted including "station Denfert" which reminds me of the number of years spent in these places.

Thanks to Philippe Labroue, my mentor.
At Villejuif early 2016 - Pascal Coulon

Of "Harpes Mag" N ° 13, March 2016 - Didier Saimpaul: "

In his latest CD, Pascal Coulon, the Bard of the metro, continues to explore with stubbornness a harp universe well to him, that's like nothing else.

These melodies often simple initially, these obsessive, repetitive jingles, he dissects them, rebuilt them, firewalls of multiple rhythmic ornaments, step by step, stubbornly, like he wanted to squeeze all of the juice, extract what they contain emotion.

Made of techniques and South American accents, but also, often, far-Eastern influences, his game is of great purity, a perfect master, and as his harp sings well, in its subtle diatonisme!

Parisians, finally, you have the chance with your metro!

Back
Top of page

Discographie

2016 - Harpe en Signe


2016 - Harpe en Signe

  Avec "Harpe en Signe", je mets des solos récents en regard de compositions plus anciennes incluant des participations de musiciens venus de divers horizons.

  Le dessin de la pochette vient d'une photo prise au pied de ma harpe où les gouttes d'eau provenant d'une fuite dans la voûte du métro avaient formé un surprenant motif, évoquantun oeil qui me scrutait avec différentes intensités, suivant les fluctuations provoquées par la chute de l'eau; le hasard voulant que cet oeil scrutateur s'installât au pied de l'instrument, de sorte queje ne puisse pas l'ignorer.

  De là l'évocation d'un signe mystérieux venu m'interpeller?  Les jours de pluie le clapotis des gouttes d'eau qui tombaient devant moi m'a inspiré "clapotis d'émotion", et d'influence aquatique encore, "des lyres au lac" et "chant de cygne". "Cordes de cristal" esprimant mon désir de syncrétisme musical.

  Pour ceux qui n'auront que ce CD, j'ai remis deux autres morceaux qui comptent pour moi: "Air amadoué" qui marque le moment où j'ai voulu m'affranchir des schémas inhérents aux musiques traditionnelles afin de chercher mon propre style musical, et "Ariette en tête" en quête de douceur et de nostalgie, morceau que plusieurs parents m'ont dit utiliser pour endormir leurs enfants.

La suite est un choix de morceaux du Cd "Harpe en sol" au tirage à présent épuisé dont "station Denfert" qui me rappelle le nombre d'années passées dans ces lieux.

Merci à Philippe Labroue, mon mentor.
A Villejuif début 2016 - Pascal Coulon


De "Harpes Mag" N°13 ,Mars 2016 - Didier Saimpaul :

Dans son dernier CD, Pascal Coulon, le barde du métro, continue à explorer avec entêtement un univers harpistique bien à lui, qui ne ressemble à rien d'autre.

Ces mélodies souvent toutes simples au départ, ces ritournelles obsédantes, répétitives, il les décortique, les reconstruit, les pare de multiples ornements rythmiques, pas à pas, obstinément, comme s'il voulait en presser tout le suc, en extraire tout ce qu'elles recèlent d'émotion.

Fait de techniques et d'accents sud-américains, mais aussi, souvent, d'influences extrême-orientales, son jeu est d'une grande pureté, d'une parfaite maîtrise, et comme sa harpe chante bien, dans son diatonisme subtil !

Les parisiens, finalement, vous avez de la chance, avec votre métro !

Retour
Haut de page