Biography

Pascal Coulon


Pascal Coulon

Pascal Coulon is a french musician fell in love, more than thirty years ago, of the harp llanera, Spanish baroque original diatonic instrument.

Become an expert of the instrument, it is also the best Ambassador everywhere where it occurs, whether in festival, concert or... in the metro!

Pascal Coulon was born in 1951 in the North of the France, a region that is distinguished by its musical traditions. Like many young people of his generation, he was introduced to the guitar by himself and performer French songs of the moment accompaniment himself.

At twenty, he "monte" in Paris. He discovered Latin American music at L'Escale, one of the oldest Latino bars of the latin quarter. There, he learned the music Paraguayan, Argentine, Colombian, Peruvian and Venezuelan. But there is a genre that attracts his attention specially: the music of the Venezuelan and Colombian llanos and especially the joropo and the pasaje, a style at the slow pace in which the harp is the main melodic instrument.

Venezuela, Japan, China

In Paris, he met the harpist Venezuelan Victor Reyna who introduced him to the cuatro, the little guitar with four strings of the Venezuela, allowing him to accompany him on his tours in Europe. On his return to the Venezuela, Victor Reyna sells her harp.

In 1974, Pascal Coulon made his first trip to the Venezuela. It goes directly to San Fernando de Apure to visit Ignacio "El Indio" Figueredo, the great harpist and composer of music llanera, who fascinated him everything especially.

In 1985, he sailed again for the Venezuela and there for two months. He visits once again to Ignacio "El Indio" Figueredo. In Barinas, he meets and befriends an another harpist, José Gregorio López.

Back in France, he continued his studies of music llanera completely self-taught with the help of recordings. Himself records his first production Pascal y Arpa

In 1993, he traveled to Colombia to attend festivals of music llanera in Arauca, Yopal, San Martin and Villavicencio. He made many harpists meet with Carlos Orozco, a Venezuelan nicknamed Mitralleta, so his game is fast. The following year, he visited Carlos Orozco in Barquisimeto. He participates in the recording of the first CD of Pascal, Caricias del Viento, which will be released in 1997.

Beside pieces in the style of the llanero composed or arranged by him or by others, he creates his own compositions and not afraid to expand the genre, adding instrumentation not traditional in the llanos, like the bandoneon, marimba, piano, the mandoloncelle, the recorder, the balalaika, the vahli, the cello...

He is not afraid to flirt with the baroque and the Celtic, clue with traditional French music, titillates contemporary music and frolicking with various Latin rhythms, expanding the scope of this harp

which the baroque origin is established. (see the harp and the information on the website of Yves Darcisas).

In addition to entire academic career, Pascal Coulon walking his instrument into the Paris metro, where he finds inspiration for his compositions.

Back
Top of page

Biographie

Pascal Coulon


Pascal Coulon

Pascal Coulon est un musicien français tombé amoureux, il y a plus de trente ans, de la harpe llanera, instrument diatonique  d'origine baroque espagnole.

Devenu spécialiste de l’instrument, il en est aussi le meilleur ambassadeur partout où il se présente, que ce soit en festival, en concert ou… dans le métro !

Pascal Coulon est né en 1951 dans le nord de la France, une région qui ne se distingue guère par ses traditions musicales. Comme beaucoup d'adolescents de sa génération, il s’initie à la guitare en autodidacte et interprète les chansons françaises du moment en s’accompagnant lui-même.

À vingt ans, il « monte » à Paris. Il découvre la musique latino-américaine à L’Escale, l’un des plus anciens bars latinos du quartier latin. Là, il se familiarise avec les musiques paraguayennes, argentines, colombiennes, péruviennes et vénézuéliennes. Mais il y a un genre qui attire spécialement son attention : la musique des llanos vénézuéliens et colombiens et plus spécialement le joropo et le pasaje, un style au rythme lent dans lequel la harpe constitue l’instrument mélodique principal.

Venezuela, Japon, Chine

À Paris, il fait la rencontre du harpiste vénézuélien Victor Reyna qui l’initie au cuatro, la petite guitare à quatre cordes du Venezuela, ce qui lui permet de l’accompagner dans ses tournées en Europe. À son retour au Venezuela, Victor Reyna lui vend sa harpe.

En 1974, Pascal Coulon fait son premier voyage au Venezuela. Il se rend directement à San Fernando de Apure pour rendre visite à Ignacio « El Indio » Figueredo, le grand harpiste et compositeur de musique llanera, qui le fascinait tout spécialement.

Il voyage ensuite au Japon pour y étudier le kōtō, un instrument japonais du type cithare apparenté à la harpe. Il y reste huit années et repart avec son « Menjo » (certificat d'enseignement de l’instrument). Après un séjour à Taiwan pour y étudier le ku-chin (l’ancêtre chinois du kōtō), il rentre en France et décide de se dédier exclusivement à la harpe llanera.

Premiers enregistrements

En 1985, il s’embarque à nouveau pour le Venezuela et y reste deux mois. Il rend visite une nouvelle fois à Ignacio « El Indio » Figueredo. À Barinas, il fait la connaissance et se lie d'amitié avec un autre harpiste, José Gregorio López.

De retour en France, il continue ses études de musique llanera de façon tout à fait autodidacte en s’aidant d'enregistrements. Lui-même enregistre sa première production Pascal y Arpa

En 1993, il voyage en Colombie pour se rendre à plusieurs festivals de musique llanera à Arauca, Yopal, San Martin et Villavicencio. Il fait la rencontre de nombreux harpistes dont Carlos Orozco, un vénézuélien surnommé Mitralleta, tant son jeu est rapide. L’année suivante, il rend visite à Carlos Orozco à Barquisimeto. Ce dernier participe à l’enregistrement du premier CD de Pascal, Caricias del Viento, qui sortira en 1997.

À côté de morceaux dans le style llanero composés ou arrangés par lui ou par d'autres, il crée ses propres compositions et ne craint pas d'élargir le genre, y ajoutant une instrumentation non traditionnelle dans les llanos, comme le bandonéon, la marimba, le piano, le mandoloncelle, la flûte à bec, la balalaïka, le vahli, le violoncelle….

Il ne craint pas de flirter avec le baroque et le celtique, papillonne avec la musique traditionnelle française, titille la musique contemporaine et batifole avec divers rythmes latinos, élargissant l'étendue de cette harpe

dont l'origine baroque est établie. (voir la rubrique la harpe et les informations sur le site d'Yves Darcisas).

En marge de toute carrière académique, Pascal Coulon promène son instrument jusque dans le métro parisien, où il trouve l’inspiration de ses compositions.

Retour
Haut de page