Discography

2015 - Harpe en Vol


2015 - Harpe en Vol

I would just put a comment about my musical approach.

It is the Venezuelan harp (llanera) who made me discover the harp like instrument in the broad sense, and I spent years trying to play correctly, making many trips in Colombia and the Venezuela, and even France, the Venezuelan Embassy cultural service called me regularly for the receptions or openings for interpteter directory traditional colombo-Venezuelan llanero and I played for a long time also in the cabaret of the Machucambos... but my encounter with Yves Darcizas and reading a book Venezuelan 'el arpa in Venezuela' opened a new approach to the instrument.

One day, passing through Paris, Yves Darciszas came to see me and lend me for a week a harp he produced in Colombia from a copy of an old Spanish harp which is be the origin of the current harp llanera. This music of the llanos, I liked it very much and she brought me a lot, but as in almost all traditional music you meet as "ayatollahs" of sorts.

With the web and globalization is moving but from what I knew, for one who is born in a corner of the region of the llanos, the harp can only be llanera and he have to play in this way and not otherwise, and if one is not a native of this place that is not necessarily well accepted and I can understand that because without this conservative position tradition would be lost faster that's for sure.

But to know that this harp llanera it is originally the European baroque harp, it allows me to understand the instrument from this perspective and seek to m ' Express as french with my French sensibility.

I'm not breton or classical harpist and I come from a region (Laon) which has no significant tradition of harp.

At the beginning I was composing in the llanero style because my friends reminded me that it couldn't be otherwise but little by little things made their way and without denying that South American folklore brought me, I can say that through my recent compositions, in this case the first three solo pieces from the new CD and the CD ("Harpaije" ") I feel good in my music.

For example, in the "froides rives song" while I play hours in the subway, close your eyes, I find myself child in my village of Aisne, when I was walking up the River (the greenhouse) in my boat in the middle of the Woods! " In addition "froides rives" is the name of a locality. "

Finally, after much traveling the world, at my age, it's wonderful to be able to travel to the depths of my memories with this magical instrument that is "la harpe"...diatonique.

Back
Top of page

Discographie

2015 - Harpe en Vol


2015 - Harpe en Vol

Je voudrais juste mettre un commentaire concernant ma démarche musicale.

C'est la harpe vénézuélienne (llanera) qui m'a fait découvrir la harpe comme instrument au sens large, et j'ai passé des années à tenter d' en jouer correctement, faisant de nombreux voyages en Colombie et au Venezuela, et en France même, le service culturel de l'Ambassade vénézuélienne m' appelait régulièrement pendant les réceptions ou vernissages pour interptéter le répertoire traditionnel llanero colombo-vénézuélien et j'ai joué longtemps aussi dans le cabaret des Machucambos…… mais ma rencontre avec Yves Darcizas et la lecture d'un livre vénézuélien « el arpa en Venezuela » m'ont ouvert une nouvelle approche de l'instrument.

Un jour, de passage à Paris, Yves Darciszas vient me voir et me prête pendant une semaine une harpe qu'il a réalisé en Colombie à partir d' un exemplaire d' une harpe espagnole ancienne qui se trouve être à l'origine de la harpe llanera actuelle. Cette musique des llanos, je l'ai beaucoup aimée et elle m'a apporté beaucoup, mais comme dans presque toutes les musiques traditionnelles on y rencontre aussi des « ayatollahs » de toutes sortes.

Avec le web et la mondialisation les choses évoluent mais de ce que j'ai connu, pour celui qui est né dans un coin de la région des llanos, la harpe ne peut être que llanera et il faut la jouer de cette manière et pas autrement et si l'on n'est pas natif de cet endroit ça n'est pas forcement bien accepté et je peux comprendre cela car sans cette position conservatrice la tradition se perdrait plus vite, c'est sûr.

Mais de savoir que cette harpe llanera c'est à l' origine la harpe européenne baroque, cela me permet d'appréhender l'instrument sous cet angle et de chercher à m 'y exprimer en tant que français avec ma sensibilité française.

Je ne suis pas breton ni harpiste classique et je viens d'une région (Laon) qui n' a pas de tradition notable de harpe.

Au début je composais dans le style llanero car mon entourage me faisait penser qu'il n' en pouvait être autrement mais peu à peu les choses ont fait leur chemin et sans renier ce que le folklore  sud-américain  m'a apporté,  je peux dire qu' à travers mes dernières compositions, en l' occurrence les trois premiers morceaux solos du nouveau CD et du CD précédent ("Harpaije"), je me sens bien dans ma musique.

Par exemple, dans le morceau "froides rives" pendant que je le joue des heures dans le métro, en fermant les yeux, je me retrouve enfant dans mon village de l'Aisne quand je remontais la rivière (la Serre) dans ma barque au milieu des bois !!! d'ailleurs "froides rives" est le nom d'un lieu-dit.

Enfin, arrivé à mon âge après avoir beaucoup parcouru le monde, c'est merveilleux de pouvoir voyager au fin fond de mes souvenirs grâce à cet instrument magique qu' est "la harpe"....diatonique.

Retour
Haut de page